County Clerk's Office - Mary E. McClellan, McHenry County Clerk

Marriage & Civil Union Records and Licenses

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option
Print

Archival Records available

The McHenry County Clerk's office keeps official records of marriages/civil unions that occur in McHenry County.

  • Marriage records from 1837 forward
  • Civil Union records from 2011 forward

 

Requesting a marriage/civil union record

You may obtain a marriage/civil union record in one of 3 methods:

1.   Order Online – please click on logo below.
headerVCLogo

2.   Write us – 

Mail your request to: 
 McHenry County Clerk – Vital Records
 Mary E. McClellan 
 2200 N. Seminary Avenue
 Woodstock, IL 60098

 Include the following items:

  • A completed Marriage/Civil Union Record Request Form*
  • A photocopy of your photo identification
  • A check or money order payable to the McHenry County Clerk for a $12 search fee for each marriage/civil union record - this fee is retained even if no record is found. Additional copies of the same record issued at the same time will be charged a fee of $2.00 each.
  • A self-addressed stamped envelope

Note: Be sure to include your phone number with your mail request.

3.   Visit us in person at our office at:

667 Ware Road
Suite 107
Woodstock, IL 60098

 

 

Marriage License Information

General Information

  1. After obtaining a license, a couple must wait until the following day to solemnize their marriage as performed by an officiant such as a judge or religious official.
  2. A license will be valid for 60 days after being issued.
  3. A license must returned to the County Clerk’s office within 10 days from the date of the ceremony.
  4. Certified copy of documentation of divorce(s) must be provided.
  5. Persons obtaining a license in McHenry County may NOT use the license in any other County.

Where to Apply

Couples must appear together in the office between the hours of 8:00 a.m. and 4:00 p.m. Monday through Friday.

Office of McHenry County Clerk
McHenry County Administration Building
667 Ware Road, Suite 107
Woodstock, IL 60098

Persons Who May NOT Marry

  1. Persons not attaining 18 year of age
  2. Blood relatives, down to cousins of the first degree may not enter into a marriage under the laws of the State of Illinois

Fee

The fee for a marriage license is thirty dollars ($30.00).

Qualifications - Residents of the State of Illinois

Age Requirements

Both parties must have attained the age of 18 years at the time the marriage license is effective or will have attained the age of 16 years and have either the consent to the marriage of both parents or their guardian or judicial approval.

Proof of Age

Applicants who are 18 years of age and under must present their birth certificate as proof of age.
Medical Examination: None required.
Identification: Photo ID is required for both parties.

Qualifications - Non Residents

Non-residents must comply with the requirements of their respective states. Non-residents requiring consent of parents or legal guardian must obtain a consent sworn to before the County Clerk or a Notary Public.

Civil Union Information

General Information

  1. Civil Unions may be entered into by same-sex and heterosexual couples of at least 18 years of age.
  2. After obtaining a license, a couple must wait until the following day to have their civil union ceremony performed by an officiant such as a judge or religious official.
  3. A license will be valid for 60 days after being issued.
  4. A license must returned to the County Clerk’s office within 10 days from the date of the ceremony.
  5. A civil union must be dissolved in court, the same as a marriage.
  6. Certified copy of documentation of the dissolution(s) must be provided.
  7. Persons obtaining a license in McHenry County may NOT use the license in any other County.

Where to Apply

Both parties must appear together in the County Clerk’s office between the hours of 8:00 am and 4:00 pm Monday through Friday.

Office of McHenry County Clerk
McHenry County Administration Building
667 Ware Road, Suite 107
Woodstock, IL 60098

Persons who may not enter into a civil union

  1. Persons not attaining 18 year of age
  2. Blood relatives, down to cousins of the first degree may not enter into a civil union under the laws of the State of Illinois

Fee

The fee for a civil union is thirty dollars ($30.00).

Qualifications - Residents of the State of Illinois

Age Requirements

Both parties must have attained the age of 18 years at the time the civil union license is effective or will have attained the age of 16 years and have either the consent to the civil union of both parents or their guardian or judicial approval.

Proof of Age

Applicants who are 18 years of age and under must present their birth certificate as proof of age.
Medical Examination: None required.
Identification: Photo ID is required for both parties.

Qualifications – Non Residents

Non-residents must comply with the requirements of their respective states and must be free to enter into a civil union in the jurisdiction where they reside.

 

For further information concerning marriage license or civil unions email the County Clerk's office or telephone (815) 334-4242.

 

 

 

 

The McHenry County Clerk does not accept credit cards or online orders: however, for your convenience, you can process online requests through an independent company that we have partnered with to provide you this service; VitalChek Network Inc.  VitalChek can be reached through its website www.VitalChek.com.  An additional fee is charged by VitalChek for using this service, and all major credit cards are accepted, including American Express®, Discover®, MasterCard® or Visa®.