McHenry County Department of Health - Animal Control

Veterinary Public Health Division

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option
Print
100 North Virginia Street
Crystal Lake, IL 60014
get directionsget directions
(815) 459-6222
mcac@co.mchenry.il.us

Business Hours
M,T,TH,F: 8:00-4:30
W:8:00-6:30
Sat:8:00-2:30
Sunday-Closed

Adoption Hours
M,T,TH,F: 10:30-4:30
W:10:30-6:30
Sat:10:00-2:30
Sunday-Closed


 Clear the Shelters 2017 Info

Adoption Application

 Important Registration Fee Information:

Registration fees changed January 1, 2017, please make sure you are paying the correct fee as shown below.  Fees are non-refundable so it is important to make sure you are charged the correct amount for your pet's registration.

2017 Registration Fee Schedule

Animal Status 1 Year Registration 3 Year Registration
Spayed/Neutered $15 $35
Sexually Intact $50 $125

Discounts:

Owner is 62 or older: $5 discount
Dog is microchipped: $5 discount

Fee to replace a lost tag: $2


 

Help our pets! Click here to see our Wish List  


Check out our Adoptable Pets and adoption process here.

 

How To:

Adopt a New Pet

Find a Veterinarian

Dealing with Wildlife

Report Animal Bites

Kids and Animal Safety (Eng and Esp)

Report Animal Cruelty

Volunteer with MCAC

Learn about Rabies

Learn about Tick-borne diseases

Learn about Common Animal Illnesses

Register, Spay/Neuter, and Microchip Your Pet

Weather & Pets

Canine and Feline Body Language (in Eng and Esp)

Animals found as strays 03/28- 04/10/2017 

Law Enforcement Survey


McHenry County Animal Control and Adoption Center (MCAC) is the location of the McHenry County Department of Health Veterinary Division. MCDH Veterinary Division's  Animal Control Officers provide code enforcement of Animal Control Article of the McHenry County Public Health Ordinance. Effective animal control activities protect people and pets. Community outreach services include education on dog bite prevention, humane care for animals, and pet adoptions. MCAC houses stray animals for the county, and provides dog licensing.

 
Animal Control Officers respond to citizen complaints about violations of the Public Health Ordinance. Each year, MCDH Veterinary Division conducts thousands of investigations, ranging from minor code violations to felony animal cruelty. When possible, voluntary compliance is sought through educating owners about animal care responsibilities. If compliance is not obtained, MCDH Veterinary Division officers have the ability to issue tickets for Ordinance violations. Officers also pick up stray, sick and injured animals.

If you are aware of a situation where public health or safety is in jeopardy, or an animal is the subject of neglect or cruelty, you are urged to contact MCDH Veterinary Division at (815) 459-6222 to report what you have seen, heard, or experienced. An Animal Control Officer will be dispatched to investigate and follow up on the situation. 

 

Learn more about Canine Influenza, from the American Veterinary Medical Association. 

 

VETERINARY PUBLIC HEALTH DIVISION STAFF DIRECTORY
Name Title Phone Email
Janelle E. Carlson Animal Control Officer I 815-334-2106 JECarlson@co.mchenry.il.us
Megan A. Falsetti Kennel Tech I 815-459-6222 MAFalsetti@co.mchenry.il.us
Kiley R. Gardner Animal Control Officer I 815-334-2100 KRGardner@co.mchenry.il.us
Maryellen G. Howell Veterinary Division Manager 815-334-4940 MGHowell@co.mchenry.il.us
Velvet D. Juarez Animal Control Officer I 815-334-2101 VDJuarez@co.mchenry.il.us
Heather F. Kvidera Office Assistant II 815-334-4945 HFKvidera@co.mchenry.il.us
Renee A. Laramie Lead Kennel Tech 815-334-4947 RALaramie@co.mchenry.il.us
Sean McDonald Animal Control Officer I 815-334-2102 SXMcDonald@co.mchenry.il.us
Cindy L. McKenzie Animal Control Officer Coordinator 815-334-4948 CLMcKenzie@co.mchenry.il.us
Oscar Navarro Animal Control Officer I 815-334-2108 OXNavarro@co.mchenry.il.us
Kara M. Plonczynski Volunteer Coord/Health Educator 815-334-4946 KMPimechele@co.mchenry.il.us
Kathy J. Rondorf Office Assistant II 815-334-4942 KJRondorf@co.mchenry.il.us
Betty J. Schlieben Admin Spec III 815-334-4943 BJSchlieben@co.mchenry.il.us
Nicolet V. Sink Animal Control Officer I 815-334-2104 NVSink@co.mchenry.il.us
Joseph W. Soucek Animal Control Officer I 815-334-2105 JWSoucek@co.mchenry.il.us
Margarita Villagomez Office Assistant II 815-334-4941 MXVillagomez@co.mchenry.il.us
Jill M. Younglove Kennel Tech I 815-334-2108 JMYounglove@co.mchenry.il.us

Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Acrobat Reader Flash Player QuickTime Windows Media Player Microsoft Silverlight Word Viewer Excel Viewer PowerPoint Viewer